Skip to content

New PC!

July 21, 2011

I bought the parts for a PC desktop.  I know that I /may/ look back on this in a few years with regret, but I couldn’t help myself. Financially I wasn’t in a good position to do so, as I’m living off of money I have saved from my last job while I try to find an equally kick ass job. We’ll see about that.

Being as it is that Rift runs so poorly on the base-line, bottomed out settings, I just couldn’t stop thinking about what it would be like if it ran like thisthis, or this. I didn’t even know that Rift could look this good until I accidentally stumbled across some HD videos of the game with Ultra settings.

Also, NewEgg was running some deals on “DIY Desktops”…  while I never bought one of the DIY sets, the sets did convince me to build one of my own, because I figured (rightfully so) that I could make a cheaper setup that better suits my needs.

CPU
Intel Core i5 2500. Ahh… The centerpiece to my entire ensemble. This is the one thing that I knew for certain that I wanted. I’ve read a few links about bargain deals that all basically hinged on using an AMD chipset. I mulled it over, but after reading at least a few CPU reviews and some benchmarks, I settled on getting a Core i5. My logic: it’s $100 less than an i7 yet performs nearly as well, and I /really/ have no intention of ever overclocking beyond stock limitations again (after my AMD key-chain fiasco, and I don’t want to buy some 3rd party cooling solution), so the i5 2500 was my best bet. One of the main reasons I was determined to get a “higher end” CPU was because of the fact that I mostly play MMOs, which are primarily dependent on CPU speed, not graphics speed.

Motherboard

ASRock H61M-VS. This one was easy. All I wanted was a barebones mobo to support the Core i5. I debated getting something more expensive that could (eventually) run SLI. I literally put together a spreadsheet with prices for SLI and non-SLI configurations; and just getting set-up for SLI in the future would end up costing me an extra $120. I am just as weary of SLI as I am overclocking. I quite literally want a plug-and-play experience, so SLI is out. I went with the cheapest 1155 board that has decent reviews.
Graphics
HIS H679F1GD Radeon HD 6790 1 GB. This is the one part I spent the most time debating (other than whether or not to prepare for SLI / CrossFire). Right now I wish I had gone with the nVidia GTX 460, but I’m pretty happy with what I chose. I went with this card because it was the cheapest card that I could find at a decent price. Everything else was either overpriced or lacked the juice that I need. That’s the skinny of it. I guess I’ll see how my decision panned out when I get Rift up and running on the machine. Until then, it’s all conjecture.
RAM
G.SKILL RIpjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1333. A simple choice. The cheapest RAM with decent reviews. The mobo only has 2 memory slots, so I wanted to start out at 8 GB, given that I’m already nearing 4 GB with a game and a few apps running. I’ve read that without overclocking, 1333 RAM is the fastest memory I would need.
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500 GB 7200 RPM 16 MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5″. That’s a mouthful. This is the lest expensive drive that gets the job done. I looked at PLENTY of other drives, from ultra-large “green” 5900 Seagate drives, to 10000 RPM Velociraptor drives, to SSD drives… and ultimately this is the easiest part to upgrade, so I went with the cheapest I could buy in order to keep overhead down. I plan on upgrading to a +256 GB SSD in the future however, but that is well beyond my current price range.
PSU
Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS 630W. The cheapest, decent PSU that I could find. The SLI ability is coincidental, because I would probably want at least 700 Watts if I was serious about SLI.
Case
Thermaltake V3 Black Edition. This was an easy win, because of its low price (including shipping), its relative size (not too big, not too small – most cases are one of the two extremes), and it has front placement of USB ports and whatnot (some STILL don’t have those!)
Optical Drive
Some generic, disposable DVD burner. I will end up getting Blu-Ray soon, because some movies at RedBox are only available on Blu-Ray.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

