Skip to content

Batteries Overview

January 18, 2014

I use quite a few AA and AAA batteries in my various electronic components. I’ve always been skeptical of house-brand and no-name batteries, due to some pretty terrible experiences with them. So I’ve been very reluctant to buy batteries from anyone but Energizer or Duracell. I’ve mostly bought Energizer rechargables since they are far more common at Walmart – but I’ve had more than a few problems with them. First of all – and probably most importantly – they come in various levels of maximum charge (measured in milliampere hours). My charger was VERY picky about what it would charge, and generally speaking it would never allow me to charge batteries together with different charges. A 2000 mAh cannot normally charge with a 1800 mAh battery, or with a 2200 mAh battery, or a 2500 mAh battery, and so on. Likewise, batteries with different amperages will not last the same amount of time. If a 2200 mAh battery in the same device as an 1800 mAh battery, the 1800 will drain first, needing to be charged… which is awkward because the batteries only charge in pairs, and with same-charge batteries – so you’re going to have to find /another/ 1800 battery to just just that one battery. Why Energizer decided to release at LEAST four different batteries (that are generally incompatible for charging, and semi-incompatible for convenient use) is beyond me. It was a pain in the ass to have to read the infinitely small print on the side of the battery to see if it was 1800, or 2000, or 2200, or 2500… Ugh.

What’s more is 50% of those batteries lost their charge in about a year. I’m not sure if it’s because I was using the Energizer speed charger – or if the batteries just sucked, but they were mostly trash within a year. That really sucks, given that I spent a lot more on those than regular non-rechargable batteries. I was bummed, as I spent +$100 on garbage Energizer batteries. So I decided to get a generic, “slow” charger, and batteries from various brands. Overall, the batteries that have lasted me the longest with the fewest issues have been Rayovac. At the risk of sounding like a sleazy car salesman, I’m definitely a big fan of the generic Rayovac rechargable batteries. I’ve yet to have one go completely DEAD, they are cheaper, they hold a charge just as well as the Energizer and Duracell rechargables that I use, and they only use ONE charge – so I never have issues charging them, mixing or matching them. It’s all very simple.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

