Skip to content

Future Releases of 2014, more AC:B thoughts

May 27, 2014

Looking at the release list for the rest of 2014, there’s not a lot that I’m excited about, except perhaps FarCry 4. I really didn’t like FarCry 1 or 2 – so the fact that I loved FC3 seems to be a fluke. As a result, I’m hesitant to believe that I’ll really like FC4 as much. This is also true because they are moving out of the jungle, and into a different environment. One of the things that I enjoyed about FC3 was the lush environment. We’ll see.

I want to be excited about Alien: Isolation, however it’s very, very rare that an Alien game is any good whatsoever. Somewhat similar, I want to be excited about the new Gauntlet, however I think my days of enjoying fairly mindless action RPGs are over. I didn’t even play past the first level of the most recent Gauntlet game for the original X-Box. I played through Gauntlet Legends, Dark Legacy, as well as Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance 1 & 2 – all of them solo except for BG:DA1 which I played through with an ex. I liked those types of games back then… but now I just can’t bring myself to play another game like that solo. Beyond that, even if I did have a co-op buddy, there are so many better co-op experiences that it’s not really worth my time to “slum it” with old-school ARPGs.

Otherwise it looks to be a slow year in gaming – which will give me time to catch up on the Assassin’s Creed series, and perhaps the Gears of War series… maybe even Halo. Those are the franchises that I’m hoping to catch up on. I lost a LOT of time playing MMOs between 2005 and 2013. There have been many fantastic games that I missed because I was wasting time leveling alts in various MMOs.

I want to revisit my comments about Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood. So far everything I’ve written still holds true, except the tower missions have become cake. With the ability to summon deadly minions, or simply one-shot bosses, the tower missions couldn’t be easier. However the 100% completion issue is still nagging. I’ve decided that I’m not going to bother with it, as some of the 100% completion requirements are just asinine, and would require way, way too much time to complete. I only have two or three missions remaining to finish the game, which I hope to do tonight. After that, I’ll start up the last in the Altair / Ezio trilogy – AC: Revelations. I’m pretty excited about that.

So far the story has been good, but not great… definitely not as compelling as AC2.

All things said, I wish I had been following the franchise from the start, even though I can now confidently say that AC1 was an awful game by most standards.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

