Skip to content

October Gaming Update

October 9, 2014

Well, I kind of let my gaming blog slip. Time for a short update.

I hate to start my most recent post by bagging on MMOs, but it really can’t be helped. SWTOR is going with a streamlined, likely dualclass talent system. So, they really are just copy-pasting whatever Blizzard did about two to five years from the present day. That game is just not very fun. The word “awful” is the first that comes to mind when I think of SWTOR – but I think I’m just bitter. The game isn’t /awful/, really, it’s just… not fun. And it’s very buggy, and utterly lacks any original content.

Also in MMO news: WildStar is failing. Badly. I’m completely unsurprised by this as well. I’m not entirely too sure why companies insist on copy-pasting WoW, thinking that trying to get into a saturated market that is already on the downslide is a good way to make money. ESPECIALLY using the quaint, antique monthly payment model.

Now that I commute about 4500 miles a month I find myself playing a lot more android games. I’ll mention two of my favorites. Reaper: Tale of a Pale Swordsman. I’m still playing this game. I bought the full version, which was worthwhile, even though I only recommend buying the base game and not the fancier versions. The extras in the fancy versions really aren’t worth the extra cash.

The other android game I find myself sinking quite a bit of time into is Strikefleet Omega. It’s a real time strategy / puzzle mix with minor RPG elements. The difficulty ramps up a bit much after the first few hours of play, the controls are finicky, and it’s a bit frantic at times – but otherwise it is easily my favorite strategy game on a mobile device. It’s freemium, and I’ve gotten away without paying for anything and I’m probably 30% the way through the game. I think I’m at the point where I’ll need to start paying to continue playing well – but I’ve gotten at least six hours of good game time out of it for free.

Otherwise I’ve been playing a mix of console games (trying to burn through the Assassin’s Creed series to catch up with a friend, who isn’t interested in the series anymore) and co-op PC games with a buddy at work – namely Terraria (again, <sigh>), MineCraft, and Dead Island.

I decided to give Dead Island another go (as much as I loathed playing the game at launch), mostly because my console experience with Dead Island Riptide went /so/ much more smoothly, and because my buddy at work really wanted to try co-op. The technical issues are still fucking awful – lost save games, lag, crashing, constant disconnects, fucked AI, broken quests, etc – but the game is sooo much fun to play co-op at times that it’s /almost/ worth it.

I’m absolutely astounded the amount of additional content that has been released for Terraria since launch. It’s without a doubt the best value in gaming. Runner up would be MineCraft, however I’m not as much into the creative aspect of sandbox games – so the lack of palpable progression or objectives will always make Terraria a more engaging experience.

We just picked up Starbound, but we haven’t had a chance to play it co-op just yet. I’m on night shift at work (and my buddies are on day shift), so I likely won’t get to play it multiplayer at all in the near future.

As a result of the lack of co-op buddies I’m likely going to finish Assassin’s Creed 3, and /maybe/ buy a PS4 or XB1 and beat AC4 before Unity comes out. I’m not having much fun in AC3, it feels kind of like a chore – but I really want to complete the Desmond saga. I owe it to myself since I slogged through AC1 TWICE, which is torture.

Otherwise I’ve got a stack of games that I haven’t played, including Gears of War, Darksiders II (another game I’m kind of “meh” about for some reason), Dead Island Riptide, Spec Ops: The Line, Crysis 3, CoD Ghosts, and Batman Arkham City.

Thankfully there aren’t any ZOMFG MUST PLAY current-gen titles. I’d /like/ to play Dead Rising 3, but the reviews I’ve read of it didn’t impress me – it didn’t sound like I would be getting more of what I liked from DR2. Also, it would lock me into buying an XB1, instead of a PS4, which would rule out The Last Of Us: Remastered.

It’s been a long while since my last update – but looking back at the games I’ve played since then I don’t think I’ve forgotten to mention any. I got a new job and moved back to my home town, and with how busy I am between family life, commuting, and work I honestly haven’t had as much time for games; for better or worse. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not pulling one of those holier-than-though “I’m too old for games now” stunts that guys go through; that’s not it at all. I simply don’t actually have enough hours in the day, or else I would be gaming.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

